Communication in Tuckahoe

In Tuckahoe Pupil Personnel Services, being partners with our parents and families is a top priority. Please know that we are always open for conversation and look forward to our partnership. Feel free to reach out at any time with questions, comments, praise, or concerns.

Q&A: Where do I go for help? How does this all work?

Q: Who do I contact if I have a kindergarten through second grader that I believe is having some learning challenges?

A: Always contact the child's teacher first. If you would like additional resources and support, please contact Sabrina Peduto, School Psychologist, at (914) 337-5376 x1305 or pedutos@tuckahoeschools.org.

 

Q: Who do I contact if I have a third through fifth grader that I believe is having some learning challenges?

A: Always contact the child's teacher first. If you would like additional resources and support, please contact Dr. Randi Newman, School Psychologist, at (914) 337-5376 x1223 or newmanr@tuckahoeschools.org .

 

Q: Who do I contact if I have a sixth through twelfth grader that I believe is having some learning challenges?

A: The child's guidance counselor is a good place to start. In the middle school, that is Debbie DiFrancesco at (914)337-5376 x1246. In the high school, contact Jessica Perillo at x1238 for last names in the first part of the alphabet and Bryan Costa at x1254 for last names in the last part of the alphabet.  If you would like additional resources and support, please contact Erik Solivan, School Psychologist, at (914) 337-5376 x1228 or solivane@tuckahoeschools.org.

 

Q: How does the referral process begin?

A: The answer depends on whether the child is preschool age (ages 3-4) or school age.
Committee on Preschool Special Education (CPSE)

The Committee on Preschool Special Education (CPSE) is responsible for identifying preschool students (ages 3-4) with disabilities and arranging for the delivery of special education services to eligible students. A preschool student with a disability is one who, as determined by an individual evaluation, exhibits a significant delay or disorder in one or more functional areas related to cognitive, language and communication, adaptive, social-emotional, or motor development which adversely affects the student’s ability to learn. A broad range of related services and special education programs are available to meet the educational needs of preschool students with disabilities.

If a parent or guardian suspects that his or her child has a disability or delay, a referral for evaluation must be made in writing to the Committee on Preschool Special Education, 65 Siwanoy Boulevard, Eastchester, NY 10709. All students referred to the CPSE must be enrolled in the school district. To register your child, please contact the District Registrar, Mrs. Karen Barros at (914) 337-6600 ext. #1262. Once registration is completed, a packet containing consent to evaluate and a list of state approved evaluation sites in Westchester County is sent home to parents.
For further information, please contact Mrs. Sabrina Peduto, CPSE Chairperson at 337-5376 ext. #1305.

Committee on Special Education (CSE)

As a parent, you may suspect that your child is having difficulties and suspect there may be an underlying disability. It is important to first arrange a conference with the classroom teacher, school psychologist or school counselor. Response to Intervention (RTI) at the building level is a key component in the pre-referral process. The parent and building specialists should plan a course of action that will provide additional building level support services. These can include, but are not limited to, support by the reading or learning specialist teacher, program modifications etc. If after multiple interventions, the RTI Team in a building or a parent feels a referral to the CSE is warranted, then a request is made in writing to the Special Education Office requesting the referral and evaluation of the student. Referrals can be made in writing to the Special Education Office, 65 Siwanoy Boulevard, Eastchester, NY 10709.

For further information you may contact:
Mrs. Sabrina Peduto, Psychologist/CSE Chairperson (grades PK-2) at 337-5376 ext. #1305
Dr. Randi Newman, Psychologist/CSE Chairperson (grades 3-5) at 337-5376 ext. #1223
Mr. Erik Solivan, Psychologist/CSE Chairperson (grades 6-12) at 337-5376 ext. #1228

Tuckahoe Pupil Personnel Staff

   

Mr. Joseph Spatola Lisa Padilla, CSE Secretary padillal@tuckahoeschools.org
Director of Special Education Antigoni Manzi, CPSE Secretary manzia@tuckahoeschools.org    
spatolaj@tuckahoeschools.org    
                                                                                                           William E. Cottle School   

Special Ed Teacher Email Address     Related Services Email Address
Rebecca Cioffi Cioffir@Tuckahoeschools.org   Speech Therapist Vanessa Nastri NASTRIV@Tuckahoeschools.org
Elise Koski Koskie@Tuckahoeschools.org   Speech Therapist Jaclyn Tripodi Tripodij@tuckahoeschools.org
Erin Gorman Gormane@Tuckahoeschools.org    Occupational Therapist Deirdre Madden  Maddend@Tuckahoeschools.org
Jenna Mazzillo Mazzilloj@Tuckahoeschools.org   Physical Therapist Kristina Hellsing-Sheth Shethk@tuckahoeschools.org
Lisa DeSimone Desimonel@Tuckahoeschools.org   School Psychologist K-2 Sabrina Peduto PedutoS@Tuckahoeschools.org
Adrianna Milano MilanoA@Tuckahoeschools.org   School Psychologist 3-5 Dr. Randi Newman  NewmanR@Tuckahoeschools.org
Elizabeth Doherty Dohertye@Tuckahoeschools.org       School Nurse Adrienne Notaro Notaroa@Tuckahoeschools.org
Laura Jacobs Jacobsl@Tuckahoeschols.org            
Jill Quartararo Quartararoj@Tuckahoeschools.org            
   
                                                                                                         Tuckahoe Middle/High School  
Special Ed Teacher Email Address     Related Services   Email Address
Sloane Dill Sloaned@Tuckahoeschools.org   Speech Therapist Victoria Weiner Weinerv@tuckahoeschools.org 
Michael Whelan Whelanm@Tuckahoeschools.org   Speech Therapist Jaclyn Tripodi Tripodij@tuckahoeschools.org 
Danielle Dwyer Dwyerd@Tuckahoeschools.org   Occupational Therapist Elizabeth Martinez Martineze@Tuckahoeschools.org
Maureen Petrellese Petrellesem@Tuckahoeschools.org   Physical Therapist Kristina Hellsing-Sheth Shethk@Tuckahoeschools.org
Alyse Fane Fanea@Tuckahoeschools.org   Guidance Counselor-TMS Debbie DiFrancesco DiFrancD@Tuckahoeschools.org
John D'Arco DArcoJ@Tuckahoeschools.org   Guidance Counselor-THS Bryan Costa CostaB@Tuckahoeschools.org
Ronda Harding-Boyd HardingBoydR@Tuckahoeschools.org   Guidance Counselor-THS Jessica Perillo Perilloj@Tuckahoeschools.org
Karen Pollack Pollackk@Tuckahoeschools.org   Guidance Secretary Lauren Nickoletos Nickoletosl@Tuckahoeschools.org
Kristyn Boyle Boylek@Tuckahoeschools.org   School Psychologist Erik Solivan SolivanE@Tuckahoeschools.org
          School Nurse Dania Morahan Morahand@Tuckahoeschool.org